Soul Train Awards 2021 Performances: Ashanti, Maxwell, Ari Lennox, Silk Sonic, Lucky Daye, Summer Walker & More+Full Winners List

Posted November 29, 2021

The Soul Train Awards 2021 aired on Sunday from the historic Apollo Theater, as BFFs Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold returned to resume their annual hosting duties.

The night delivered stellar performances from some of R&B’s hottest acts including Ari Lennox, Silk Sonic, Lucky Daye, Summer Walker, and more. As previously reported, Ashanti was honored with the Lady of Soul Honor, while Maxwell received the Living Legend honor, and both took to the stage as well to perform.

Get into the performances and some other show highlights below.

You can also check out the full winner’s list below.

Song of the Year

Blxst feat. Ty Dolla $Ign & Tyga – “Chosen”
Bruno MarsAnderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open” — WINNER
H.E.R. – “Damage”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”
Yung Bleu feat. Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Album of the Year

Blxst – No Love Lost
Doja Cat – Planet Her
Giveon – When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time
H.E.R. – Back of My Mind
Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales — WINNER
Wizkid – Made in Lagos

Video of the Year

Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open” — WINNER
Chris Brown, Young Thug feat. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
H.E.R. – “Damage”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”
Normani feat. Cardi B – “Wild Side”
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Alicia Keys
Doja Cat
Jazmine Sullivan — WINNER
Jhené Aiko

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Chris Brown
Giveon — WINNER
Lucky Daye

Best Collaboration

Chris Brown, Young Thug feat. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss Me More”
H.E.R. feat. Chris Brown – “Come Through”
Jazmine Sullivan feat. H.E.R. – “Girl Like Me”
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence” — WINNER
Yung Bleu feat. Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Best New Artist

Capella Grey
Tone Stith
Yung Bleu — WINNER

Certified Soul Award

Anthony Hamilton
Charlie Wilson — WINNERA
The Isley Brothers
Jam & Lewis

Best Dance Performance

Chloe X Halle – “Ungodly Hour”
Chris Brown, Young Thug – “City Girls”
Lizzo Feat. Cardi B – “Rumors”
Normani Feat. Cardi B – “Wild Side” — WINNER
Usher – “Bad Habits”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Brian Courtney Wilson
James Fortune
Kelly Price
Kirk Franklin — WINNER
Maverick City Music
Tasha Cobbs Leonard

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Can’t Let It Show” – written by: Kate Bush, Durrell Babbs (Tank)
“Come Through” – written by: Carl Mccormick, Chris Brown, H.E.R., Kelvin Wooten, Michael L. Williams Ii, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R. Feat. Chris Brown)
“Damage” – written by: Anthony Clemons Jr., Carl Mccormick, H.E.R., James Harris, Jeff Gitelman, Terry Lewis, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R.)
“Essence” – written by: Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun, Oniko Eddie Uzezi, Oniko Evawero, Richard Isong, Temilade Openiyi (Wizkid Feat. Tems)
“Leave the Door Open” – written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic) — WINNER
“Pick Up Your Feelings” – written by: Blue June, Chi, Audra Mae Butts, Jazmine Sullivan, Kyle Coleman, Michael Holmes (Jazmine Sullivan)

Congrats to all the winners and performers!

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,841 other subscribers

Search the site

Looking for something in particular?

JoJo's Current Playlist

The Archive

Looking for something in particular?


%d bloggers like this: